Could Live Off Writing Excitement

I was going to put up a picture of someone with insomnia–because that was me last night.  None of them interested me, so I’m going to pick on my sister at the end of this post. <g>

The reason for my insomnia, however, does interest me. 

There are scenes from three different books living in my mind.  This young adult trilogy came to me as one complete story and now that book 1 is done, I’m really anxious to jump into book 2.  I already love the characters and I haven’t yet written about them!  But they’ve been hanging out with me for close to a year now. 

But I was having trouble with how to begin book 2 and it came to me last night.  Unfortunately, it arrived with bells and whistles LATE.  I stared at the ceiling for a long time as something seriously cool played out in my head.  And this morning, I plan to jump in.  (Hoping for a bit of news first. )

Why am I writing book 2 when I firmly held off writing book 2 for Beri?  Because there’s a simmering excitement threatening to boil over and that’s the best time to dive in. It’s when the story is truly alive and will live on screen, too.  (Book 2 for Beri is still alive in my head and I KNOW the excitement will flood back once book 1 is sold and I have a go!)  This trilogy is centered around sisters and each one has such an individual personality.  In fact, the 3rd’s sister is a little like my Beri in that she’s demanding her time now.  But her story comes after sister #2.  Guess I’d better hurry up…

And speaking of sisters, everyone says my sister and I look alike.  I don’t see it. Do you?

jana.jpg

My sister.

me-again.jpg

Me.

Okay, okay, here’s a better one of my sister.  (That one above just FITS her.  It does! She’s a goof ball.)

jana

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Could Live Off Writing Excitement

  1. Erica Ridley says:

    LOL! Hilarious pic. Everyone says my brothers and I look *nothing* alike. In your case, you’re both cute so looking like each other is a bonus!

  2. relliott4 says:

    Thanks! It’s hard to feel cute in my uhum… late thirties, so compliments always welcome. I have a brother and I think he and I look more alike. (Is it bad I want to add unfortunately there? I mean, do you ever stop picking on your brothers?)

  3. Christy says:

    You and your sister DO look alike – but more in person than in pictures. The fact you’re both tall with MILES of leg ~ which you can’t really see in the pics ~ makes the similarities more pronounced.

  4. Kathy says:

    I always thought she looked like Jane Seymour in that pic.

    LOL

    Another ugly woman. 😛

Leave a Reply

