My Cool Teen

I’m soooo tempted to write my day with my daughter into a future young adult novel.  She’s pretty ill and it hit fast.  Took her in and yes, it’s the flu. Since she was coming in with a fever, they had her wear a mask. 

Now, some teens would cringe and feel embarrassed.  I probably would have.  Not mine. She takes things in stride and has an incredible sense of humor.  She was feeling horrible, but found time to giggle with me in the examining room while we waited for the doctor. 

Why were we giggling? That mask freaks people out.  Seriously freaks them out. One dude’s back hit the wall when we came in.  We both felt bad about scaring people and we didn’t really want to go in to help spread this rough illness, but the doctor insisted. And it was her first nose swab. Her response?

“Whoa. Uncool and way too personal.”

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to My Cool Teen

  1. Josh says:

    You can pick your friends.
    You can pick your nose.
    You can’t pick your friends nose,
    But your doctor can.

    I had to wear one of those masks a few weeks ago. I didn’t freak anyone out with it, though. I came back from a trip to Scotland and started getting flu like symptoms – I got lucky and it was just strep throat.

    That does sound like a great concept, too.

  2. Harry Markov says:

    You really wear those masks in the US even when you have flu. I guess we are pretty rural in that area. I don’t think you can even find those masks here. Okay, that was a lie, but they are mainly used while spray painting.

    And your daughter has one heck of sense of humor.

    • relliott4 says:

      We don’t walk around in the masks. They just wanted to protect the sick patients in the waiting room since her flu is contagious right now. It was a soft, surgical mask the covers quite a bit more than the paint masks–easier to breathe in. 😉

  3. Christy says:

    Sounds just like her….LOL! Hope she’s feeling better soon.

  4. Celise says:

    Just last Wednesday, I did a post on where I get my story ideas. This is a perfect example! You are so going to have to write about this. I think she would dig it. She could show her friends, “Yeah. She got that from me.”

Leave a Reply

