Random Giveaway!

Had the worst cold this week!  At first, it messed with my head.  Then, when my body was still fighting, the brain started working. 

I got ideas for two new books this week.  TWO!

One of them is pretty vague with big potential.  One came in with a bang and potential.  I started taking notes and researching and that flood of excitement in my veins made the cold take a back seat.  Still ill, but I’m not caring quite so much.  LOL!

I’ve also been in intense critique sessions  with Rachel.  It’s no secret, especially to those on Twitter, that Rachel and I LOVE these sessions.  We really dig into the meat of the story, the motivation of the characters.  We both benefit no matter whose manuscript we’re working on because it stirs up creative fire every single time.

This time, we’re critiquing ALPHA.  (And NO, I will not share any of it, not even hints. Okay, one hint… it’s INTENSE and EXCITING.  That’s all you’re getting. Along with germy hugs, kay?)

Since these fierce sessions will go on a few more days and I’m planning to dive into the new idea to take my mind off the books out on submission…and this tenacious cold!… I’m going to leave this post up a few days. And do a RANDOM GIVEAWAY!!

In the comments, tell me your favorite part of the critiquing process or revision process–or just say hi and show me some love so I can kick out the cold.  One random winner will get to win this!  Everyone occasionally feels like a zombie when on deadline, right? (Makes a fun Christmas gift if you’re not into zombies. )

If you really don’t want the zombie one, I’ll let the winner pick from these. Deadline to comment is by midnight my time (Central standard) Wednesday. I’ll announce the winner Friday.  Good luck!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

29 Responses to Random Giveaway!

  1. Kari Stewart says:

    Oddly, given my phobia of zombies, I think this cup might be therapeutic.

  2. Kari Stewart says:

    Of course, I didn’t actually answer your question. My favorite part of the critique process is when I ~know~ there’s something off about a section but I’m not quite sure what, or how to fix it. And then one of my betas said something, usually something very small and random, and the light shines down from on high and a chorus of angels sings, and it all suddenly makes perfect sense!

  3. hagelrat says:

    Sadly the critiquing process isn’t relevant to my line of work, but day job deadlines often turn me into a brainless shambler when I get home.
    As for the reviewing, I try not to let it zombify me but it’s a challenge on occasion.
    I love the zombie mug! It seems like they are everywhere at the moment.
    Hope you kick your stinking cold quickly, they are evil things.

  4. MelissaT says:

    Hi, Rinda! I hope you feel better!

    My favorite part of the critiquing process is hearing about what works (and, slightly less awesome – what doesn’t). It’s great to see those “LOL!” and “Great idea!” type comments when I get it back from my CP. And when something isn’t working – it’s nice to have someone around who’s head isn’t immersed up to the ears in the story and can shine light on those shadowy fixes you might have missed.

  5. MariaSweet says:

    If it helps I’m all ill and germy and have the flu as well, and I’m trying to edit my TV &Radio Packages to death so I can bring them to some semblance of good when all I want is to curl up under my duvet and rest! *sigh* Hope you get better soon though, and I am loving the intense critiquing process you and Rachel are having, makes me crave to read Alpha even more! ::) hehe And I have to have a similar critiquing process as well, only I don’t know about you guys but sometimes if not always is kinda brutal and draining! Quite cathartic at the same time too though… 🙂

  6. relliott4 says:

    Kari, Rachel and I will often hand each other a chapter and say that something’s off. Usually, the other can figure it out. Fresh eyes are so important.

    Hagelrat, thanks for the well wishes! This mug works for any sort of deadline so I’m glad you like it. 🙂

    Melissa, exactly. We’re too close to the story to always see what’s not working.

    Maria, I’ll have to find the links on Rachel’s site where we shared exact comments out of our sessions. Brutal happens with us, too. Often. We’ve learned the trick is to wait before we respond back and let the suggestions simmer. Most of the time, there’s a nugget of something-even in the harder critiques–that ends up making the story better.

    • MariaSweet says:

      Oh yes quite right. Letting the suggestions simmer is good, I’m not the most patient person in the world but I know, actually more like realised through trial and error, that if I don’t let the critique/sugestions sink in and start taking shape in my mind before I get back at it it’s not going to work! [Sometimes I do find it hard to follow though, need to work on my patience asap! ::)] However much I try the ‘block’ won’t go away and I’ll most likely be reluctant to change things around anyway unless some downtime period, however short, has passed between the initial write-up and the critique. Looking at it at a later stage with the suggestions in mind is much better I think… 🙂

  7. Teri Brown says:

    Hope you feel better soon! Have fun critiquing:)
    Teri

  8. Likari says:

    I love that mug! It’s apropos my day job too.

    My favorite part of the critique process is when my reader points out that something doesn’t make sense. Sometimes I’ve got so much story in my head, I don’t realize when some essential info hasn’t gotten onto the page.

  9. Teresa says:

    My favorite part of the critiquing process is the rapid fire conversations. It’s like that with my CP. You can tell you’re on the same wave-length with something, and you just go back and forth, streamlining a character, a plot point, a concept, until something hits you and you shout, “YES!” It is SO. MUCH. FUN. 🙂

    Also, hope you kick the cold and feel better soon!

  10. Jackie B. says:

    Cute mug can be used as a present to give a “ParticuIar Friend” with a freaky sense of humor if win it…
    I can only say that am not an author or editor or anyone in the “Critiquing” business per se. However I read, a lot a lot a lot, of books every year and know what I do and do not like. I love books that are centered in the Paranormal Genre be they fantasy, romance or whatever someone calls them they all keep me company in my mind and entertain me on days when need a pick up. Without books the world would be flat, cold, uninspiring place and thank you to all of the writers who give us fans something to look forward to at the online and real booksellers. You lovely people who put yourselves out there to be rejected time and time again by the powers who decide what will and will not sell, I applaud and hope you continue to follow your muse and allow us to enjoy the results for many years to come…..

    Jackie B Central Texas

  11. elaing8 says:

    I don’t really know anything of the critiquing process.But I hope you feel better soon.

  12. Jessica Capelle says:

    Zombie mug is awesome! What I love about revisions is when I find a paragraph that doesn’t need any and for a minute I have to make sure I’m reading my own work but then I realize- hey, I can do this! Lol. With critiquing I really like the back and forth with someone that I’m on the same page with and it’s exciting to think that we’re helping each other shape our best work.

    Thanks for the fun giveaway!

  13. Jessica Capelle says:

    PS- get well soon!

  14. jmspettoli says:

    The best part of critiquing is laughing hysterically at the random things your brain does at the very early hours of the morning when brain is ready for bed and you and your deadline are not (obviously the laughter is in good jest and not hurtful).

    Feel better soon!

    Jess

  15. Amanda says:

    I hope you feel better soon! I’m just starting to kick the cold I have. Stupid inflamed sinuses 😦

    I like the revision process because it allows me to see more clearly into the world I created and how I can make it better.

  16. vickey r says:

    Feel better soon 🙂 my kids are finally gettin better they had a really bad cold. ugh!

    revisions are the best part, going over it again and making sure it all fits.

  17. Nellie B. says:

    Aww. Get better soon. Drink lots of tea. 😀

  18. Renee Sweet says:

    I’ll say it again. 🙂 Rinda!! I miss you!! LOL

    One of my favorite parts of critiquing is how much I learn about my *own* writing. It’s so easy to see technique and style (and mistakes) in other people’s work that is so hard to see in my own. I always come away having learned something and more inspired for my own work.

  19. catie james says:

    Since I haven’t been through the critiquing process “for real” yet, and my revisions have been confined to mostly line edits of short stories, I’ll just send “I hope you’re feeling better soon” wishes. Sometimes colds can feel worse than full on flus because they hold on so tenaciously. Take care Rinda!

  20. relliott4 says:

    So many comments! Thank you all for the well wishes. I really appreciate them!

    Jackie, wow. I need to send other writers here to read your comment. Thank you. 🙂

  21. RKCharron says:

    Hi Rinda 🙂
    I love trimming away the excess and making the story clearer and cleaner. Nothing feels as good as replacing a bunch of words with the EXACT word. 🙂
    Thank you for the opportunity to win the DEADLINE ZOMBIE.
    All the best,
    RCKharron
    xoxo

  22. Ellen Beck says:

    I am but a reader, not a writer. I do appreciate all the work and effort the writer puts into doing what they do best- providing an excellent read!

    Hope you feel better- make a cup of hot tea, and curl up with a good book!

  23. Getting it just right, or finding that the bit I was worried about is perfect after all.

    (I’m in Australia. I hope this is open internationally!)

  24. For me, the rough draft is all about getting the idea out of my mind and turning it into something that looks almost like a story when I get done. Revising is where I get to polish the rough edges until the story becomes smooth and graceful the way I originally intended it to be.
    My critique partner helps me find the unpolished surfaces that I miss, because I’m too close to the story I want to tell. She also amazing when it I’m stuck and trying to flesh out an idea. She asks all the right questions to help me find my way back to the story.

  25. Lingeorge says:

    I don’t really get in on the critique process. I am not a talented writer — I AM a talented reader. But every once in awhile I run into a typo in a published book and want to get out the highlighter/red pen. (just kidding) I love the mug — and your books! Thanks for writing them.

  26. Ashley says:

    I think I commented on the wrong one the first time.. I love you and I hope you get well asap!

  27. Nicola Egerton says:

    Hi Rinda, congrats on the two new ideas.
    I’m afraid I cannot comment on the critiquing or revision process as I am currently working on my first project. It is not too far off from finihsed, and it will be the first thing I ever finished when I do! I am really looking forward to revisions, as I know there are lots of things that need fixing and hopefully I can make it a much stronger novel and give it a fighting chance.
    Get well vibes winging their way to you. Good luck with both the submissions and the new ideas!
    xxxxx

  28. Celise says:

    I think the best part about revising is that it’s just plain easier than the writing. I like going back to fill in the INSERT INFO HERE to fill in the blanks.

Leave a Reply

