Special Giveaway–Undone by Brooke Taylor

I LOVE THIS BOOK.  It’s edgy and gripping. I couldn’t put it down!  It’s also one of my daughter’s favorites.  She loves it so much, she snitched my signed hardback and rereads. (I’ve been informed by this daughter that I should have said she jacked it.  <g>) Another fan is my critique partner, Rachel Vincent. 

So, to celebrate the paperback release of this book we love, Rachel and I are doing a simultaneous giveaway!  Comment here and at Rachel’s to get TWO chances to win! Comment about anything you want, but if you’d like a suggestion, I’d love hear some of your favorite recent YA novels. 🙂

 Undone by Brooke Taylor

Synopsis

Kori Kitzler is the “dark angel” of her high school: beautiful, mysterious, the subject of rumors. Serena Moore is just an average girl, until a run-in with Kori in the bathroom in eighth grade. When Kori tells her that they are more alike than she thinks, Serena is instantly intrigued, and their fateful friendship begins.


When the girls are asked to complete a writing assignment listing the five things they would want to happen–their five ways to tempt fate–Serena doesn’t take it seriously. But when something tragic happens to Kori, Serena is left with her loneliness and Kori’s five things. Can Serena complete her best friend’s tasks, or will she leave her list undone?

Because Brooke’s so awesome, she’s opened this giveaway up to international entries, so everyone qualifies!  This giveaway will close at 11:59 pm (central) on Friday, February 5.  Good luck!!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life, Writers I Like and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to Special Giveaway–Undone by Brooke Taylor

  1. One of absolute favourite YA novels has got to be Jay Asher’s “Thirteen Reasons Why”. Such a profound read, and one I think every teenager should read.

  2. Sarah Keery says:

    The story sounds brilliant and the cover is just mesmerizing – me wants lol

  3. kai charles says:

    great contest 🙂 I recently loved the Ya shiver and am enjoying the morganville vampires kai

  4. Pingback: Twitted by jacabur1

  5. I ditto 13 Reasons Why. A must read.

    I just finished Rampant by Diana Peterfreund. It was kick ass awesome. Killer unicorns. That’s all that needs to be said.

    I’d love to read Undone. I remember Rachel giving it away a few years ago but I never got around to ordering it. 😦

  6. Cari says:

    Recent favorites are:

    Deadly Little Secret by Laurie Faria Stolarz
    Chasing Brooklyn by Lisa Schroeder
    Fallen by Lauren Kate

  7. Amanda says:

    Rachel Vincent’s My Soul to Save. It took FOREVER for my bookstore to shelve it 😦 But it was AWESOME!

  8. LiLi Ramos says:

    Some of my favorite YA novels, huh?

    Well, anything by Barry Lyga, of course. The Kindling of Greenfyr by Mark Freeman was awesome. Mostly everything by Meg Cabot, like her Mediator series and Avalon High, and of course All-American Girl (Ready or Not!). Probably some that I can’t think of right now, but those are mostly it.

  9. Jennifer M. says:

    My favorite YA novels are are the Vampire Academy novels by Richelle Mead.:)

  10. Lisa B. says:

    I’ve never heard of Undone before, but if you and Rachel recommend it, then I’d love to read it! I’m currently reading Wake by Lisa McMann and I’m immersed it.

  11. Kristina says:

    Yay for international entrants! 😀

    Let’s see. I have to be honest, I haven’t read that many YA novels recently, but two that spring to mind immediately are “Looking for Alaska” by John Green and “Thirteen Reasons Why” by Jay Asher. I can honestly say that they are two of the books that have touched me the most through my reading “career” so far. If someone were to ask me which books they should read if they were only to read two YA books in their lives, these would be it.

    Now, I realize these are somewhat depressing books, so they are in a position of their own. If I were to name YA books that were less… dark, I’d say “Wicked Lovely” by Melissa Marr, and Rachel Caine’s entire Morganville Vampires series. I love the takes both these authors take on faeries in one case and vampires in the other, and I always recommend both, among several more, if someone asks me what’s good. 🙂

  12. Recently read Frozen Fire by Tim Bowler, it’s been good so far. I also recently read Fallen by Lauren Kate and thought that was pretty good 🙂

  13. Dan says:

    I’m kind of new to the whole YA thing, but I think I’ve had some awesome luck. I really loved CITY OF BONES and CITY OF ASHES by Cassie Clare. I’ve also fallen in love with Rachel Vincent’s MY SOUL TO TAKE and MY SOUL TO SAVE.

    And, I’m not sure if it’s YA or MG, but I’ve recently read the first two books in Rick Riordan’s PERCY JACKSON series…and they are awesome.

    Oh, and Sarah Cross’s DULL BOY.

  14. CatBlack says:

    Thanks for the contest Rinda. I recently picked up the latest House of Night novel by PC + Kristen Cast “Tempted” And Rachel’s “My Sould To Save” both books were excellent reads. I now have waiting for me in the trb pile… Wicked Exchange – Melissa Marr, The Hunger Games – Suzanne Collins and the Den of Shadows Quartet – Amelia Atwater-Rhodes. Some great reading ahead. I would love to add Undone by Brooke Taylor to my list!

  15. Recent fav YA? I just discovered Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead, and fell head over heels for it. I’ve also been a longterm Melissa Marr fan and had the good fortune of reading an ARC of her 4th book, Radiant Shadows, which was delish. And YA by R. Vincent, of course! Nash makes my knees weak. 🙂

  16. Jen says:

    I really enjoyed the Immortal Instraments trilogy.

  17. Rebecca S. says:

    I think my all time favorite YA book is Sisters Long Ago by Peg Kehret. I found it in the library in 5th grade and pretty much had it on perpetual loan, I reread it so many times.

    Thanks for the contest! 🙂

  18. Jenny N says:

    Some of my favourites are The Hunger Games, Shiver, Perfect Chemistry.

  19. meaghan says:

    this book sounds amazing. it reminds me a little bit of my newest obsession – the tv show the buried life. love the idea!

  20. Donna S says:

    Looks like a great book. I just read Firespell and it was a great start to a new series.

  21. Nicola Egerton says:

    I have recently read The Forest of Hands and Teeth which I thought was brilliant, and am at the moment reading Wicked Lovely, which I am also really enjoying.
    xxx Nikki

  22. Francesca says:

    My favourite YA novel is Catching Fire of Suzanne Collins, it’s amazing!

  23. Teresa W. says:

    I just received the latest Morganville Vampire series book Fade Out from a friend and can’t wait to read it! Love this series!

  24. Rebekah E. says:

    This sounds like a great book. Thanks for the contest.

  25. tina says:

    One of my favorite YA novels of 2009 … Fire by Kristin Cashore. I devoured it.

  26. Michelle Pearsall says:

    I finished Vampire Kisses just last week. It was a compendum of the first 3 books. Now I have to get the rest. Being an adult I’m finding myself reading more and more YA. Maybe it’s because some of my fav authors are branching out.

  27. Sharli says:

    I’m dying to read this!!
    Yesterday I finished Shiver by Maggie Stiefvater and I loved it! I recommend it to everyone 🙂
    I can’t pick just one favorite though… 😛

  28. Spav says:

    The last YA book I loved was “The Iron King” by Julie Kagawa. It was great!

  29. Sounds like such a great book!
    My recent YA favorite is “My Love Lies Bleeding/Hearts at Stake” by Alyxandra Harvey 🙂

    Sara

  30. ScottM says:

    Undone is a great novel. I enjoyed it from the public library. I’d love to own it. Suggested reading in YA…. The Girl Who Threw Butterflies (Cochrane), The Key to the Golden Firebird (Johnson), Dreamland (Dessen), A Map Of The Known World (Sandell), Uglies (Westerfeld).

  31. Linda says:

    Recent favorites have been Bleeding Violet by Dia Reeves and Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

  32. Michelle says:

    I absolutely, positively LOVED “Shiver” by Maggie Stiefvater. I know I’m a little behind on the “Shiver” train, but it took me awhile to get it to the front of my queue.

    I also think the Percy Jackson books are smart and funny, something YA novels need to be!

    • sheere says:

      The Hunger Games is a must read and Cassandra CLare’s Mortal Instruments series is great!
      I haven’t read Perfect Chemistry yet but it seems pretty good so..
      The cover is so beautiful!

  33. Lea says:

    I think one of the best (and most surprising) books I’ve read in the past year was Molly Fyde and the Parsona Rescue by Hugh Howey. It turned out to be everything I love in a book (and the sequel was even better!).

  34. CJ says:

    I really enjoyed Scott Westerfield’s Uglies, Pretties and Specials. I’m really enjoying The Hunger Games. It’s wonderful!

Leave a Reply

