Saber and Poe To the Rescue

Some of my followers (this sounds so wrong, btw) on Twitter, love when I post my cat pics.  I have two (cats, not followers <g>) and they drive me crazy sometimes, but they offer unconditional love and comfort. Last night, I think they sensed the service for my very good friend, Donnell, had destroyed me.  The little one slept curled under my arm with his head on my chest and Saber was plastered to my other side. All night.  (Hubby was out of town.)

Here is a picture of Saber and Poe’s first meet.

My favorite picture of Poe. (He loves The Doctor which makes him brilliant.)

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Odds & Ends. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Saber and Poe To the Rescue

  1. J.F. Cossey says:

    Either you’re going to end up thinking I’m a stalker, or that I’m lying, but I feel compelled to comment here too. As you know from another post, my best friend also died of cancer, a week before Donnell. I didn’t actually get the confirmation from her daughter (I live in Canada she lived in Florida) until the 5th. She had attempted to email me the day after Cindy’s death, but I never received that email.

    Then in the very early morning of what turned out to be the day of her funeral, the 4th, I was up late unable to sleep. The TV was OFF, but all of a sudden it shorted out as though someone had stuck a knife in an eletrical socket, and I said to myself “she’s gone.” Nonetheless I emailed her that morning as I always had, telling her not to feel obligated to write back and that I loved her and would always be here, and then on the 5th I got an email from her daughter on Cindy’s account telling me she’d passed away on the 31st.

    That little episode with the TV was weird enough, but as it turns out all that week, even before I learned for sure Cindy was gone, my little cat who NEVER slept on the same floor of my house let alone with me, had been sleeping on my hip. Every day. And she still is. Because, quite honestly, I’m a little bit afraid of the dark these days when I go to sleep.

  2. relliott4 says:

    Our animals can sense when we’re sad or hurting. My older cat never wants in my lap and when I had surgery, we had a horrible time keeping him off me.

    Again, I’m sorry for your loss. I hope you have friends who share memories of her. The last few days, my friends and I have been sharing our memories of Donnell and it’s helping.

    • J.F. Cossey says:

      And I am truly sorry for your loss too. I know how it feels but I can say with full confidence that they never truly leave us. I feel Cindy around me all the time, and the thing that comforts me most is that she isn’t suffering anymore. Good people like Cindy and Donnell deserve way better than what they got, but what we got was the best anyone could hope for with their friendship.

Leave a Reply

