Split Personality

With my mind full of moving tasks like packing, mail, utilities and more, there hasn’t been a lot of room for my work and I was getting frustrated.  So, I gave myself permission to take a break. But the mind doesn’t quit completely and I end up stopping to sketch scenes or look up a bit of research.  Plus, there is that part of my brain still on what’s happening in the submission process–can’t do a thing about that.  😉

I’ve brought up my thoughts on writing being a process of tapping into a story that already exists, which if you know me is a pretty funny comment. My personal life is one of what’s logical and what isn’t. I’m into tangibles. 

My fantasy life, however, the very thing responsible for the stories, is completely different. I love to answer the what if question.  Sometimes, I think I live for it.  What if this really existed? What if this happened? How would this character react? And when this part of me takes over and I stumble on a piece of research I had already added to the story or a plot point that fits like a puzzle piece, I do sometimes experience a sort of internal argument.  My painfully rational side starts to lose a bit to the side that craves the idea of magic and mayhem.

Because when the story is going well, when it raises goosebumps on your arms or takes over your sleep, it does feel like you’ve reached out and grasped hold of another world. That you’ve been gifted with a glimpse into something that already exists and all you can do is hold on and enjoy the ride.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Split Personality

  1. X. Dell says:

    As you can see, I’ve been away for awhile. I like what you’ve done to the place.

    Seems to me that the characters often take over a story, because they take on a life of their own. You have plans on what is going to take place. But once you’ve become involved in developing a character, he or she becomes more real to you, and you realize that they weren’t meant for the situation you planned for them. They’re good sports. They’ll try to do as you ask. But as the writer, you can see that’s it’s really not their thing. So, the only real choice you have is to change the story, let it work how it’s going to work. If that involves magic or rationality, it will probably turn out okay.

    Good luck on your move. I have to admit that I’m not into romances, but one with a “special ops” premise might appeal to me.

    Also, I saw someone checking out one of Gena Showalter’s novels at the Cincinnati Public Library, and thought of you. I’ll check and see when Dweller in the Threshold gets there too.

  2. relliott4 says:

    That is exactly how it seems to work. They develop and grow and dictate the story back.

    And HI, btw!!! My special ops short story is more romance than special ops, so you might not enjoy it so much. But you are cool to even consider it. 😉

Leave a Reply

