Interest In Wired

I think my last post at the Deadline Dames was a bit confusing. I’m getting a lot of searches on my name with the title of one of my manuscripts, Wired.  I talked about writing the book in this post. The book isn’t published and in fact, hasn’t been sent out on submission.  But it seems there is interest in it so I’m going to share. 🙂

I’ve finished eight books.(I’m not even going to count the partials or children’s books.)  Two are out on submission with my agent. Three will never go anywhere. I promise you, this is a good thing

There are three I’d like to rewrite at some point and Wired is one of them. Problem with that book is it’s dated. I had a heroine who grew up in The Troubles in Northern Ireland and she was a self-taught computer hacker. Technology changes faster than the speed of light. To rewrite this one, I’ll need to learn to trace hackers all over again.  I made up a cool tracer program when I wrote the book but there are much better programs out there today, so I’d have to get creative. Or get a wickedly good source. Hint. Hint.

 (Available for pre-order now! click on the book cover for details.)

However, my short story, Cane River, which is out now in the UK in the Mammoth Book of Special Ops Romance, features a software developer who turns hacker to take down some nasty bad guys.  I may have gotten the hacker heroine out of my system with this one.

Oh! Here’s some fun news. Those of you with a Kindle can already order the Mammoth Book of Special Ops Romance!  Otherwise, it doesn’t come out here in the states until May.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Interest In Wired

  1. Amanda says:

    I CANNOT wait for this book!

    And I wanted to let you know that I received your Surreal magazine (from the Dame’s contest) and LOVED the story. LOVED it 🙂

    Amanda

  2. relliott4 says:

    Oh good! That story won first place out of 80 entries in a horror short story contest. I was surprised since I purposely wrote it in a more narrative than active style–it was my little homage to some of my old favorite horror writers. Reviewers weren’t kind. They didn’t catch on. 😉

  3. X. Dell says:

    I would never have pegged you as a script kiddie.

    Since hacking is still something of the present, I wouldn’t reckon that the subject itself is outdated, just some of the details. I wouldn’t be able to help you on a new program, but perhaps, if you can’t find anyone here, you might find some help at the local university (or a geek vocational school, even).

    I know, all things you’ve probably tried before. I can only suggest one other thing: WBAI’s (New York) Personal Computer show sometimes touches on topics of hacking. They might be able to point you somewhere if you call them on the air.

  4. relliott4 says:

    I even used the term script kiddie. Her cat’s name was Foo. A lot of the book could still be used, I’d just have to update the actual tracking software-make up a new one. I had used something fake similar to Traceroute.

    Thanks for the link!! If I do decide to rewrite this book and I probably will because it was a fun romantic suspense, I’ll keep it in my favorites.

    The other issue was her childhood. She’d witnessed a friend’s father’s execution because he’d done construction in NI on a building destroyed by the IRA/PIRA. She’d tied that to her father. That was such an emotionally huge part of her makeup, I’d have to do quite a bit of research into a later time in that area.

    But I could do it. In fact, just talking about it makes me want to try. Thanks. 😉

Leave a Reply

