Crashing Computers and Loving Your Hero

Was waylaid last week so I spent the weekend brushing up on my Norse young adult and then got so into the world, I ended up hand writing scenes for book two.

My computer did its usual and crashed, so I had to wipe it. I’m having to revert to factory condition at least once a month now. I truly believe it’s a Windows issue because it always seems to happen after an update and there is NEVER a restore point. I am so sick of dealing with this. Problem with reverting is you start with a crap load of software you don’t want and then you have to reload all the software you do.  So, while all that was going on, I wrote on paper. With a pen. For realz! Last night, my computer was stuck in the endless “configuring 3 of 3 updates/restart” loop of death, so I enjoyed True Blood and Hung and just continued the writing by hand.

And ohhhhhhh, it was such a good scene last night! The middle sister has some wicked chemistry with Taran and he’s intriguing me with his Thor-like temper and his ability to turn gentle at the drop of a hat. I LOVE HIM. I suspect in rewrites, he’s going to get up and walk off the page.

I know it looks like I’m jumping between projects with a toddler’s attention span, but I do have my reasons. Trust me. 🙂

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Crashing Computers and Loving Your Hero

  1. lynn says:

    oh I hate computer crashes–it totally sucks that your comp seems to have a habit of it 😦

    Sometimes I write on paper when I get stuck at the computer; it helps to just change things up a bit. And I love falling in love with characters 🙂

  2. relliott4 says:

    I’m seriously considering investing in a Mac at some point. I’ve heard they don’t have near the problems PCs do.

    Writing in paper has been good for me. Gets me off this machine more.

  3. I’ve done pen and paper when I’m away from the computer. I think I need to do something like wipe my computer. It’s driving me nuts. I journal by hand and write poetry by hand. I’m stuck finishing a nonfiction medical piece right now and can’t wait to get back to fiction, but sometimes, as you well know, you write what will pay you.

  4. Amanda says:

    I internet on my main PC, but I write solely on my laptop, which is an HP. I’ve never had a single problem with an HP. You may want to look into that. I’ve never owned a Mac though, so I’m no help there 🙂

    And what’s with the being coy at the end there? You always leave me wondering 🙂 I can’t wait to read your books, especially the Norse YA and the Dystopian.

  5. relliott4 says:

    Sometimes we have to be coy. Things do happen behind the scenes but they fall through so fast sometimes, it’s better not to talk about them. I don’t have any concrete news to share just that I’m working on different projects in the hopes one of them hits a target. I’m so glad you can’t wait to read my books. 😉

  6. relliott4 says:

    I came back. You know, I do wish I had real news to share. Every single day. I’m spending a lot of time wondering myself and it’s excruciating at times, so I probably shouldn’t share that feeling. LOL! Thanks for putting up with the coy.

  7. Amanda says:

    That’s okay…I kinda like the coy. I have no doubt i’ll have a paperback with your name on it in my hands soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

