Requests for Cane River & Books Read

So, I’ve been hearing from a few readers about Cane River in the Mammoth Book of Special Ops Romance and so far, it’s nearly all positive. In fact, the only complaint is it’s too short. I wrote that story pretty fast, but really enjoyed the main characters, so writing a full length version is an option I’m entertaining.

I was keeping a folder of emails from readers who’ve requested the full length version and it wasn’t backed up before the laptop crash.  Yes, it’s crashed so much, I’ve been careful to backup, but this last time, a few didn’t make it. If you’re reading this and want to resend the request, that’d be great. Don’t know that the requests would help sell the idea faster, but they certainly can’t hurt. <g> I am considering going back to writing romantic suspense and trying category publishing again. My young adult is pretty romantic and in fact, that aspect of the book has received huge compliments. (Actually, the response to all the aspects of this book have been really positive lately!)

But, it’s possible I still have it in me to write romance.

And apologies for the quiet blog lately. It’s summer and I’m dealing with a few personal issues.  Also, I’ve been typing in the files that didn’t get backed up. FROM HARD COPIES. This is a pain and hard on the wrists, so I’ve been getting off the computer at night completely. And reading. Some great books I’ve read lately are:

I’m about to start this one. My critique partner, Rachel Vincent, sent my daughter an ARC from BEA this year. My daughter left it in her locker at work and she’s off for three weeks. I’m going to ask if they’ll let her in to get it because I’m soooo excited about it.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Cane River, My Writing Life, Writers I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Requests for Cane River & Books Read

  1. I can’t imagine you not being able to write romance. Anything you write works. I need to get hold of Special Ops. Leaving for CO on Sat. See you when I get back.

  2. lynn says:

    I read Uglies and loved it. Now I’m in the middle of the sequel 🙂

  3. relliott4 says:

    I couldn’t get into it at first but I was in the middle of the move, so I tried again. Read through fast this time and really enjoyed it!

    Have fun in CO, Carol!!!

Leave a Reply

