Just Gotta Stretch My Arm…

Yes, I gave you screaming girl in the last post. Sorry ’bout that. There are days when being on submission makes you feel a little like that and then there are days it feels more like the picture above. Like you have this glowing dream almost within reach.

Honestly, I’m still pretty excited about a couple of possibilities but working to not get my hopes up is a bit of a chore at times.  So, I’m focusing on other things. Now that the kiddo is back in school, I’m turning to the WIP. My critique partner read over the proposal for Unnatural Selection  and compared it to Minority Report and Robin Hood–which is TOTALLY cool in my book.

Don’t forget, the Deadline Dames are sharing stories about their paths to publication. These are great articles that show not everyone travels the same road. Because I’ve shared most of my path here, I’ll probably go ahead and put up the ROD. We had some excellent entries this last time, so the Dames are having a time picking the winner. Good times. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just Gotta Stretch My Arm…

  1. Lynn Colt says:

    Totally know how you feel about being on sub. My book’s finally started getting a couple of responses from editors (note the lack of leaping for joy, lol) and the hope vs. despair seesaw is jerking me around. This, I fear, was not the time to start on my diet and minimize the chocolate consumption!

  2. relliott4 says:

    Oh boy. I’m am going to say welcome to the seesaw. All it takes is one interested editor and sometimes finding the right fit takes time. It’s hard and frustrating, but I believe the payoff will be sweet. 🙂

  3. lynn colt says:

    Thanks 🙂 I’m still crossing my fingers extra-hard for both of us.

Leave a Reply

