Un-NaNo- Good Step Back & Honest Admission

I kicked butt. Not in word count entirely, but in the quality of words produced yesterday. The step back to mull the story worked and though I didn’t make up my word count for the missed Monday, the words I wrote yesterday are good words, so I’m verra happy.

Words yesterday–1855 (But more because I went back and edited two scenes for character inconsistency, so I cut, cut, cut and actually wrote over 3000 new words.)

Honestly, it’s hard to continue writing a story when your protagonist strays too far out of character and that’s where I hit a bump. I messed her up so she refused to help guide the story. My bad. I let her back in as “herself” and it was all good after that. heh heh

I will also admit that this partially happened because I was dealing with a little disappointment. Nothing new. It’s just that things on the submission front are painfully quiet. Even with the interested publishers. Some days, the quiet eats away at a person, so those days ,writing can be a little more of a struggle. I’ve had a couple of them recently–and they almost always happen on Fridays, no matter how much I go into the day with a positive attitude. Luckily, a good night’s sleep and a self pep talk brings me back into the flow.

Don’t forget to check on my CP’s progress! Rachel Vincent is in the race to a finished roughdraft this month with me and trust me, we are so good for each other when it comes time for a little more than a self-pep talk. 🙂

Click the button to visit Rachel!

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

