Un-NaNo-It’s Friday. Show Me Love

Yes, another insidious Friday has crept into my life. Most are so happy on this day, thanking various deities and getting ready for two days of debauchery or maybe, just some sleep. Writers on submission still have these feelings, but they are slightly damp… or in some cases, they’re soaked and dripping all over the floor.

Where’s my damn mop? 😉

But, as you can tell from my tone, I’m actually in a positive mood. I know how many of you think I’m nuts, but remember I live entire other lives in my head, so yeah, maybe I’m a  little bonkers. 

Right now, I’m immersed in a post-apocalyptic, young adult version of Minority Report and Escape from New York. I’ve got a seventeen year-old girl who just tasted her first bite of jelly, who is learning to street fight, who just experienced her first kiss from a boy with a purple streak in his hair.

I. Love. This. Job.

(Yes, it will be a job–still believe this–can anyone say coo-coo?)

So, on the Un-NaNo front, the book is rockin’.  Words yesterday are 1800 give or take a few. It’s slower than I wanted, but steady and that is great. I had to brush up on street fighting techniques or I would have had more words. At this pace, I’ll still make my 50k goal easily and I’m accounting for Thanksgiving, etc. 🙂

Check on my critique partner, Rachel Vincent’s, status in this crazy trip we took together this month. She had like over 700 entries in her ARC (advanced reader’s copy) contest for her upcoming young adult novel, My Soul to Steal. . 700!!! 

(You can click on the book cover to pre-order, btw. )

Click on our button to see her progress in our Un-NaNo.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Un-NaNo-It’s Friday. Show Me Love

  1. Chandra says:

    It comes down to a choice, a simple choice we make every single morning: Get out of bed or stay in bed?

    If we can continue to choose “get out of bed” then we can continue to choose “this will be a job.”

    ROCK OUT THOSE WORDS, RINDA!

Leave a Reply

