Un-NaNo-It’s About the Story Now

I have NO idea what my WIP’s current word count is–none. And better yet, I don’t care. LOL! I have handwritten pages to type in and I sketched setting and world-building scenes that have to be incorporated. I’m sure I passed the halfway point, but honestly, I’m not so worried about the word count right now.

I’m “IN” the story and that’s where I should be. 😉

So, I’m not following the NaNo official daily word count the way I’d planned, but I’m enjoying writing this book so much! It’s exciting, dark and romantic. And the rough of it should still be done by the end of the first week in December. The hardest part about doing this slam in November is Thanksgiving holidays. I was starting to feel the pressure over the weekend because I have other irons in the fire right now as well. So instead of mentally berating myself over word count, I pulled out a notebook and just had fun with the story. 

Once I type everything in, I’ll post the official Un-NaNo word count, but it won’t be today. I have two heavy scenes to write today so I’ll be concentrating on those.

I just brewed coffee and I’m going in deep. 😉

My critique partner, Rachel Vincent, and I are still keeping in contact as we both work to finish roughs this month, so check out her progress, too. That is, if you can take your eyes off that gorgeous pie she made…

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

