Don’t Let the Chatter Slow You Down

Am dying to share some of the current WIP, but am playing it smart. This baby needs to go through my critique partner and agent before I start sharing with you. Speaking of my CP, Rachel Vincent is holding several ARC giveaways on her upcoming YA novel, MY SOUL TO STEAL. You might want to check daily on her blog and get in on this.

http://www.urbanfantasy.blogspot.com

Right now, I’m working hard to finish up the latest book–as you all know. It’s not like I haven’t been sharing, right? I had written myself into a corner and funny enough, all it took was switching a couple of scenes. Now, I make that sound easy and it really isn’t. Every emotional reaction in a scene is fed off things learned in earlier scenes. Switching them means you have to change the way the character takes in information, how she reacts to it.

Luckily, I do like a challenge.

And I think I’m enjoying the world-building more than should be legal. Even when I’m tripped up a bit on science and have to track down some obscure and random fact, I’m not letting it worry me too much.

And speaking of worry. I know a lot of people who read this blog, read or write in the same genres. Urban Fantasy, paranormal romance, dystopian fiction, post-apocalyptic fiction, etc. On the Net, recent chatter has been that publishers are getting burned on these… oh, you gotta love the chatter. But seriously, if any of you are panicking over these tidbits of information, try not to let it mess with you too much. If you are truly writing a good book, it will stand. This is my current mantra because yes, I do worry about these things, too. 😉

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Don’t Let the Chatter Slow You Down

  1. Lynn Colt says:

    Glad to hear the corner has been written out of 🙂

    I try not to listen to chatter (but they’re getting burned on dystopian and para romance?? what is going on in the world?!) and just write the book I’m in love with. Otherwise I’d go crazy trying to figure out what publishers want now or in six months.

    • relliott4 says:

      Okay, I know it’s not good to talk about why a particular book is rejected, but I’m going to share a little. While I’m still waiting on a lot of editors who are looking at Foretold, some who are showing interest, I did get turned down by a couple who absolutely loved the book and had incredible things to say. One in particular went into detail about what she loved, she raved–her only worry was the market for paranormal YA.

      Oh, trust me, that was a difficult one. 🙂

      Her worries are valid, though–I do believe that. There are a lot of us writing paranormal YA. But I don’t think the market for para and dystopian is going away completely–I’ve been reading these before they got so popular. I’ve been writing them for a long time, too. I do think things swing up and down a bit, so I’m hoping for an upswing. VERY SOON. Also, every teenager I know still loves these books and none show signs of being near tired of them yet.

      I’m having a blast writing my current book. It’s full of action and intrigue and yeah, it has paranormal elements along with a post-apocalyptic world. It’s nearly done. Am I going to chunk it in the trash because an editor on Twitter said she gets too many of these? Nah. It could be that my book is “that little bit” different and could stand out. It’s possible even this editor could see something fresh she loves. We never know, right?

      But I’m loving the process, the telling of my story, and I think that’s still the most important part of this career we’re after.

      And, I still think if the book is good enough, it’ll find a home. Truth is, I may work to stay confident, but I do tend to start doubting my work after some hold onto it for a long time. In fact, I made a comment to my agent a couple of weeks ago. She’s great at boosting me up through this wait. I’d been rereading Foretold and told her I didn’t think it was that bad. She said, “Not bad? It is in fact, quite good.”

      So, I guess what I’m saying in this sort of rambling comment is I agree fully with what you said on your blog, it has a lot to do with the right book meshing with the right editor. I have a lot of hope this will happen and look forward to working with one who loves the characters like I do. 🙂

  2. All I can do is write what works for me at the time, enjoy the process and try to ignore the rest or I’ll second guess myself into infinity and beyond(Thans Buzz for being channeled.) Had fun Saturday.

Leave a Reply

