Revision Cave Has Critters & My Kindle Love

My kids are the critters. <g>  They get bored and come in to chat, so the writing gets interrupted. But that’s okay. I’m still getting a lot done and I love them like crazy.

I broke my cave rule though to share that I LOVE MY KINDLE.

Yeah, I recently got one and oh man, is it the coolest thing.  It’s hardly ever out of my sight. I’m buying a LOT of books-way more than I have in the past couple of years. Sometimes daily. I’m not only buying from Amazon, but they are getting a lot of business from me right now. (Which is why I’ll eventually get a Nook and Sony to spread the support around. )

But I buy or pre-order and the books arrive on my reader like magic. (I’m charged the day they’re delivered, so I’m thinking these have to count toward first week sale numbers.) I can make the print bigger when my eyes are tired from writing on a screen all day. I can shut it down, turn it on and it’s on the page I left it. It weighs next to nothing. I can put books into different categories. OH! I can email my own work to it for free and read my stuff like it’s a book. (Love that part!)

The only downside so far is I do miss the pretty book covers and I won’t read on it in the bathtub. Too clumsy. So, I’ll still be buying print books from my favorite authors, but I’m a fan of ebooks too. I kind of feel the need to share that because there have been a lot of recent blow-ups on the Internet about them.  I have so many favorite authors and I believe 100 percent in supporting them, but I do hope ebook sales count because it’s hard to beat the convenience.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Revision Cave Has Critters & My Kindle Love

  1. Exactly how I feel about my Kindle. It didn’t make me buy less books in print, I just by print ones and others for Kindle. Love mine.

  2. W.G. Cambron says:

    I got a Kindle for my birthday. Use to laugh at the idea but not I love it.
    And yeah, kids do like to stop the writing process.

  3. relliott4 says:

    I’m so bad, I haven’t been able to pick the right cover and have it wrapped in a soft cloth. 😉

Leave a Reply

