Our Work Has Value Too

I recently tried to have a conversation with someone about e-piracy. I went into this already in a hurt mood because I’d been dealing with some unfriendly people. Guess you could say my back was already up and when I get upset, sometimes my conversation reflects that. I’m not so great with argumentative conversation.

So today, I’m feeling kind of down. There’s so much work that goes into making a book. Research, honing the craft, hours and hours of writing, editing…not to mention the cost of promotion. And it’s not just authors who are working so hard to make a living at this. The publishers, editors, agents–we all put in incredible hours hoping it works.

This work has little value to some.

So today, I’m just linking to a post I wrote not too long ago on what e-piracy feel like to authors.

http://www.deadlinedames.com/what-does-it-feel-like/

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Work Has Value Too

  1. Elaine says:

    E-books make it too easy for people to copy and obtain the books without paying. Much like anything in digital format nowadays. I’ve seen how much work goes into a novel. People need to respect how much does go into the process of creating anything – books, movies, etc – and pay for it!

    • So much work. And this publisher is a small, independent publisher. Everyone earns according to sales. The cover artist, the writer, the editor. My editor is fantastic. I got Blood of an Ancient to her Wednesday and she worked all weekend to get the first round of editing done.

Leave a Reply

