Reviewers-Blood of an Ancient

With Blood of an Ancient releasing in two months, I’ve started approaching reviewers. This time around, we have time to build up a little buzz, so I’m hopeful the ones I’ve contacted end up enjoying the book enough to share their excitement with readers. Blood was a difficult book for me. It’s emotionally dark and I had to deal with some pretty rough stuff with these characters, but it was a necessary transition for what’s to come as the series progresses. There’s more of a focus on the romance throughout but I promise not to skimp on all the fun UF action we all love. Beri and the friends who are fast becoming her family have great things to do in their world. 🙂

There’s a gamble sending out copies early. There’s always the fear authors have that a book will be innocently shared then somehow end up on pirate sites. If this happens early, sales won’t happen. No sales means no more book offers. It’s a risk we have to take.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Reviewers-Blood of an Ancient

  1. Missy Frye says:

    I’m sure you’ve cultivated a network of reviewers that will be responsible. I’m excited for you!

    • I’ve only approached a few reviewers–all ones who liked Dweller and seem to be the honest kind who wouldn’t let an early review copy out of their hands. As we get closer to release, I’ll approach more. But funny enough, I find it HARD to approach reviewers. Find it hard to ask people to give my books a try even when I’m offering up free copies. It’s not a fear of getting bad reviews–I prefer honesty always. It’s more like a feeling of presumption, you know?

Leave a Reply

