A Little Catch Up

Still alive. Things are hectic in the Elliott house. I came home to this huge stack of notices and permission slips and today, I realized I’d forgotten what I’d volunteered for and what day was what. Agh! So, I sat down and wrote out the children’s schedules and you would not believe all the end of the year activities! Some of them require drop offs at 3:30 a.m. and pick-ups at 1:30 a.m. the next night. Another night, the drop off is 10 p.m. with a pick up at 5 a.m….

The school is trying to kill us — or maybe torture us through sleep deprivation.

In other news, I hope to have some pics from the conference soon. Had a blast! Ended up spending a couple of evenings with Jennifer Blake and the wonderful ladies of Romance Ink. Saturday night, we shared hilarious stories until after 1 a.m.

I got to sit with people from NY, Canada and Indiana. That is one of my favorite parts of the conference– meeting new people from different areas. We swapped local flavor stories and in the case of the editor from NY, she had asked her shepherd to take her for local food.

Guess what they had.

Lamb fries.

Let me say that again.

Lamb fries.

I’ve lived in OK a long, long time. I moved all over the country for a long time, but came back here twelve years ago. Was born here. I’ve never even seen them on a menu. I asked a few locals if they thought of lamb fries as authentic OK food and heard some prefer calf fries. Does one ball taste different from another? (Am I going to seriously regret typing that? (g) )

One man said there’s nothing better than to drop them in a vat of hot grease.

Oh man.

I’m sure my face resembled the hell going on in my stomach with those words. I’m also sure if I wasn’t still so exhausted from the conference, I could go into some incredible snark over this…

To me lamb fries do not represent Oklahoma. Maybe I’m not an authentic Oklahoman.

So, while sitting late at night gabbing with my writer’s group and the very fun, Jennifer Blake, we decided that the man who liked to drop lamb fries in hot grease should be forced to wear a speedo. This of course degenerated into titles of Nostalgia stories or Confession stories hence… “I Fried My Balls in a Speedo.” Of course, we were exhausted and well, there was wine, so the laughter was hard and loud. Incredibly fun.

I looked up lamb fries on the Net and found this page. For a chuckle, read the paragraph under the title. rocky mountain oysters and fries

Conferences are hectic and whenever you’re trying to find people, you can’t. I looked all over for the ladies from OKRWA after the banquet to see if they wanted to have some wine with us upstairs. I’m sure I was walking circles around them. Sorry I missed you guys that night. I did see Laura in line then someone moved me and I couldn’t find her again.

As for the contest, my novel, Dweller on the Threshold, took home 2nd place in the sci-fi/fantasy/horror category. (Yes, they’re all lumped into one in this contest.) I was pretty excited to get second after I heard the judge was into men’s fiction and my protagonist is definitely female.

I did write up my topic challenge while sitting in a couple of workshops but I have to type and polish. I planned to do that today, but my parents recently moved — down-sized from a 6000 sq ft house to 2500, so my mother was pushing items into my hands all afternoon. She did give me some beautiful flower arrangements, huge pottery pieces and some amber glass that belonged to my grandmother. I have a serious thing for amber.

So, since I’m sleepy and barely coherent, I won’t bore you guys any longer tonight. Hopefully, the Write Snark will be back to a full rumble within a day or so.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Favorite Posts, My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to A Little Catch Up

  1. Lyn Cash says:

    I didn’t know you had a thing for amber – kewl. And while it’s annoying to find space for items you hadn’t planned on having (just yet), I’m sure you’ll enjoy those pieces from your mother.

    CONGRATULATIONS again on your win at OWFI – that’s a tough category to place in. As someone who has read Dweller, I’m not surprised at ALL that it won something.

    *snort* on the Lamb Fries – lol.

  2. I should send you the new beginning. Added a creepy prologue and took out some of the fluff. (g)

    Thanks for the kind words.

    My favorite decoration in my house is this black iron piece with an amber mosaic in the center. I also like antique amber bowls. I got one of my grandmother’s favorites yesterday. 🙂

  3. I didn’t know what rocky mountain oysers were when I orded them in Amarillo. I also cried when I realized the yummy, tender white meat on my plate was rabbit.

    I lived in Oklahoma for 26 years before moving, and I NEVER heard of Lamb Fries.

    Twisters. Red Earth. Native Americans. Fried Okra. Superb Steaks. Johnnies Burgers. Braums. Excellent Heart Surgeons.

    These are a few of the things that represent the great state I miss.

    Not fried testicles. Ick.

    And OMG, downsizing form 6000 sq. ft? If I could only win the lottery….

    Glad you are back. 😉

  4. They had this incredible house. I think they’re planning to keep it and rent it. Who rents a 6000 sq ft house with an indoor pool???

    Their new house is smaller, but beautiful. My uncle did the most stunning marble paint on the dining room walls and the front area has an Oklahoma stormy sky on the ceiling. He’s a freaking genius when it comes to paint. Takes your breath away.

    Plus, the new place is on a golf course. My father even has a golf cart and a back garage area just for it. He can zoom out and play golf whenever he wants.

    The last house was too big. It was just the two of them and keeping it clean and working was getting to be a bit much, I guess. The place has two kitchens. Two. I’m going to miss some aspects of it, tho. I should find out if they put a tour on the net. It’s an interesting, modern house.

  5. Betty S says:

    Congrats on the win!!!

    I love amber glass, too. The color is magical. I think I started drinking iced tea when I was younger because of the color.

  6. Jen says:

    So I guess you have a much different opinion of that particular judge than I do. *s*

    I got a grand total of 13 points on my fantasy. Oh well. It’s the incentive I needed to finish the edits on the blasted thing and send it out.

    Congrats on your win. I think that’s totally great! 🙂

  7. X. Dell says:

    *Sends a cyber high-five*

    My parents are downsizing too. The old childhood home’s going on the selling block.

  8. I would never willingly eat a lamb fry (by any name) or head cheese. However, should they start offering southern fried chicken skin as an appetizer, I would probably order it. I admit I love that crispy chicken skin with lots of seasoning.

    I say this because I just cut up a rotisserie chicken from Wal-mart, and probably ate most of the top skin as I chopped the meat for salad.

    If you haven’t bought one of these, do. They are delicious – even the meat. 😉

  9. Laura says:

    “I Fried My Balls in a Speedo.” You should so write that confession. I snorted when I read the title.

  10. Sara says:

    What kind of school activity requires them being there at 3:30 in the morning? Wow. Glad to hear you had such a good time and congrats on your contest.

  11. Betty S says:

    I’ve always avoided Lamb Fries.
    (I can’t help but invision those poor little lambs writhing like lobsters in the grease, screaming their little heads off.)

    🙂

  12. Hurray on second place!

    I always kind of pictured you as a lamb balls fryin’ kind of girl!

    *snark*

    Jason S.

  13. Sarah, it’s a band trip. Concert and eight hours at six flags. I chaperoned last year. Let me repeat… eight freaking hours at Six Flags. It should be illegal. But having to pick her up at 1:30 in the morning the next night…

    Next week is a 10 p.m. to 5 a.m. thing. Crazy

    Jen, this judge was not the type to give high scores on everything. I had a couple of six out of tens in there and one five. Ouch. I’d love to see the first place scores…

    Thanks Jason. You have a cool guest blogger today. 🙂

  14. I spelled your name wrong. Sorry Sara

    One of my closest friends spells it with an “h”

  15. Woo Hoo on second place!!! That’s great 🙂

Leave a comment