Me and Emerson

What is it about human nature that makes us want to fit in? You join this group or that one… you hope each time the fit will be right. I’ve spent most of my life like this.

Searching for Like so I didn’t feel alone.

Some of us, no, most of us, really don’t fit into any box perfectly. We have such individual bumps and edges. Experience has molded, each new cast different than the last. We are alone in our skin and for some, comfort comes in conformity. Like with like.

So, what of the perpetual nonconformist? That one person who just doesn’t fit in anywhere and well, really doesn’t want to? The older I get, the more comfortable I get in my own skin. In fact, I believe that once we become comfortable with who we are, being alone is no longer lonely.

One of my favorite nonconformists was Ralph Waldo Emerson. I don’t profess to understand everything he wrote– not yet (g)– but I do know that in highschool, his quote, “Whoso would be a man must be a nonconformist,” really hit me. (Yeah, a teenager who actually enjoyed reading the required Emerson is strange, but hey, I never claimed to be anything approaching normal. But then who is? Is there really such a thing as normal? Wait, do we want me to take off on another tangent? NO!)

So, my class had to read Self-Reliance. I loved it. Yes, I know. Freak. But here was someone unafraid to be himself! Talk about a foreign concept in highschool. Some think Emerson was a selfish man and in a sense he was. With his time. He had great things to ponder and even greater things to write. Unfortunately, writers do have to be selfish about their time when they can. Things like family, children and jobs come first, but show me a writer who isn’t writing and I’ll show you someone balancing on the edge. The edge of what– I’ll leave to your imagination.

Being selfish with my time is something I’m still learning. Kind of goes in with that whole procrastination from perfectionism subject I touched on here before. If I wasn’t trying to be so damned perfect at okay, EVERYTHING, maybe solitude wouldn’t be such a luxury. Emerson taught that solitude is a person’s best friend. (He used way more words, tho.)

Too many people read halfway into Self-Reliance and make snap judgments or get bogged down in his, dare I say it, wordiness. They don’t go far enough to get the beauty of his words, the utter simplicity of what he was really trying to say.

“If we live truly, we shall see truly.”

Those are his words, btw. So what else did I learn from this essay?

Go with that first gut instinct when it comes to your genius. (Yes, you have it.) There’s nothing worse than seeing some other artist or writer come up with a genius idea you already had and let go. Trust yourself.Don’t waste time wallowing in regret.

Moving or traveling won’t really solve your problem. You bring your “giant” with you wherever you go.

Even though it’s easier to fall in line with those around you who think they know what’s best for you, don’t. Be true to yourself.

Oh, there’s more but I’m striving myself to be less “wordy” in this blog. heh heh

The real genius here is that these are simple ideas that make sense yet for some reason they’re the ones that seem to float just out of our normal thought range.

I wonder how long it took Emerson to be comfortable in his nonconformity?

I want to be more comfortable in mine.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in Favorite Posts, My Writing Life, Writers I Like. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Me and Emerson

  1. Oh no, it means you aren’t conforming to either and being yourself. It means whatever the hell you want it to mean. (bg) I, personally, think you’re cool and need no label.
    I don’t think any of us are all one thing or another. That’s too generalized and how can we generalize a personality? Like I said, all those bumps and edges. Okay, I have family.. never mind.
    I just posted this long comment on your blog about something similar. How weird. I tend to worry about scaring away my more conservative friends (and I unfortunately have) yet I started this blog determined to be myself. Spent years trying to conform so that certain family and friends would love and accept and when I finally learned that hard lesson– that I can’t make them truly love me without condition, I broke free of this self-inflicted prison. I’m only just now really writing the kinds of things I like.
    I’m liking me way better now. Still need work, but who doesn’t?
    As for being a leftie, a rightie or a mix of both … it’s treating each other with respect that counts. Everyone has different opinions. I try to state mine without telling anyone else I think theirs is wrong. That can be hard, but who am I to decide what’s right for them? That’s usually my point. One person’s perspective and all that.
    Crap, am I making any sense with my one cup of coffee self? And I even had a big mug– the coolest in fact. Says, “Nothing like a hot cup of global domination in the morning.” It’s from Apex Digest. (g)

  2. Because I like you very much and I do not think you are a freak, I will put this on my TBR.

    Nice Post.

    Also, I took an extensive quiz yesterday and discovered I am not a conservative or a liberal. I’m a centrist. Whodathunkit? I wonder if being a middle road moderate means I’m afraid of conforming?

  3. Raising pinkie to mouth in mock Austin Powers gesture…MUST HAVE THAT MUG.

    Really. Way cool.

  4. And, by Austin Powers, I mean Dr. Evil.

    I haven’t had my coffee yet. 🙂

  5. Dana Pollard says:

    I too spent WAY too many years trying to conform to make friends. I am the way I am, and I ain’t gonna change. (how’s that for non-wordiness? hehe)

    I love hanging, or chatting with my friends because they are who they are. Everyone is so unique. It’s what makes it fun! (believe me, I’d hate to hang out with a bunch of me’s all the time ;))

    Rinda, I think you and Heather are cool kids and I love chattin’ with ya. I’d never try to make you see things the way I see them. I’d share my thoughts, but I’d also expect you to share yours.

    I’m getting wordy. hehe

    Great post, Rinda!!

  6. The mug is too cool. And they got the graphic big. I need to work on getting the graphics on my mugs bigger. I showed the mug to my brother-in-law and he has to have one now. I see I’m going to be Christmas shopping at Apex.

    Hey Dana, I wish I could do that thing with the voice here that Robin Williams did in Aladdin. I always tell my kids this when they come home upset over something at school. BEEEE yourself. Of course, my son is getting to old to think it’s funny. (g)

  7. Dana Pollard says:

    As a child you can’t understand the ‘be yourself’ way of life. I know I couldn’t. I’m sure your son still thinks it’s funny that you imitate Robin Williams from Aladdin. You’re a cool mom.

  8. Betty S says:

    I’ve loved Emmerson since high school, too.

  9. Laura says:

    Great post. Emerson was a nice discovery when I was 17. I’ve always been somewhat of an odd duck. Just ask my mom. She’ll be happy to tell you.

  10. Sara says:

    If the only people we spent time with were just like us, how would we ever grow or evolve? The person I am now is so much more interesting than the person I was before … even last year, last month.

    I believe God puts people in your life that he intends for you to learn something from. To open our eyes to things that we’ve become imune to or complacent about. Things that were once important to us but that we’ve forgotten … or just gotten too busy with the daily grind of life to pay attention to anymore.

    I’m glad I’m past the point in my life where fitting in was more important than being true to the amazing creation that is me. It took a while, but I finally understood that the people that I can learn from will see the real me only when I’m not trying to be something I’m not. And will accept and respect me simply because I’m genuine, flaws and all.

    Thanks for making me think today. Kilt guys and beefcakes are nice, but they’re dessert. Okay, a really rich, decadent chocolate cake, but still dessert. Your post was prime rib.

  11. Well since I went back for thirds or more on the kilt guy, I must like dessert pretty well. (g)

    Thanks.

  12. Hey Laura, your mom told me you and I would hit it off when she first met me. (g)

  13. Pingback: Liked This Tag « The Write Snark

Leave a comment