It’s Harrison’s Fault

Woke late this morning to hear the cat crying at the back door off my bedroom. He’s somehow escaping before lock down and getting pissed about being left outside all night.

It’s his own feline fault and I don’t feel sorry for him in the least.So, I’m treated to kitty glare.

Cat glares are a sort of snide, sleek snub. Saber, my cat, will actually stop and make eye contact and hold it. Then I have to stare him down because damn it, I’m alpha in my home. I win and he lowers his eyes long enough to climb onto his scratching board where he proceeds to eyeball me and claw the thing to shreds in warning.

He does this a lot, but I should have listened this morning. The animal gets on my nerves, but I’m secretly crazy about him. He even made it into my last manuscript about an Irish computer hacker who is adopted by an insane cat. She named him Foo– a hacker term for annoyance.

I ignore him and turn on my treadmill. He hates it. Eyes it as if it’s about to grow legs and make his world a living nightmare.

I’ve been neglecting the machine. Writing for hours on end, barely eating and not exercising. I know better. Started to feel horrible and moody yesterday, so I realized it’s time to get the exercise back into the schedule. I know I’ll feel better and the writing will go more smoothly, but I’m a stubborn soul. Plus, I’ve managed to avoid most bikini situations nicely this summer– hey, my work is more important! I can’t get out of one happening in ten days, so I have the inspiration needed to get off my tush.

I make the mistake of picking up A Fistful of Charms, book four in Kim Harrison’s fantastic Hollows series.

Yeah, you can run on a treadmill and read. Should you, though?

I get into this exciting scene where Rachel Morgan, the heroine, has to fight a female alpha werewolf. Man, this scene rocks! It’s so thrilling, I don’t realize I’ve picked up the pace.

Saber curls on my bed, watching with half-lidded eyes. He knows what’s coming. He sent the warning and doesn’t want to miss the show.

I’m running, nearly howling with Morgan and clutching the jostling book with white knuckles to hold it still so I can actually read the words. Ah, come on, you know what’s coming…

Did you know a running back spin is possible off the back of a speeding treadmill?

I’m so glad that wall was there.

About Rinda Elliott

Writer.I love unusual stories and credit growing up in a family of curious life-lovers who moved all over the country. Books and movies full of fantasy, science fiction and romance kept us amused, especially in some of the stranger places. For years, I tried to separate my darker side with my humorous and romantic one. I published short fiction, but things really started happening when I gave in and mixed it up. When not lost in fiction, I love making wine, collecting music, gaming and spending time with my husband and two children. I’m represented by Miriam Kriss of the Irene Goodman Agency.
This entry was posted in My Writing Life. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to It’s Harrison’s Fault

  1. Dana Pollard says:

    And people wonder why I don’t want cats in the house. They don’t cuddle and play nice like my dumb dog, Playful. Yes, the little beastie curled up with me yesterday on the couch as I wrote. Why this dog loves me like he does is beyond me. I don’t get it.

    Maybe I present a challenge in his life. The woman he can’t have. Yeah.

    Rinda, you are a very talented woman. A running back spin? Dayum. You need to teach me that one. As long as there’s a wall around though.

    🙂

  2. Well, I hate to say it, but my cat is actually a reincarnated dog. He cuddles, he snuggles and he loves on me constantly. Yes, he has little temper tantrums, but he never fails to show me love.

    When I sit down on my chair to write at night, he snuggles on the back of it, and puts his chin on my shoulder — after rubbing my cheek with his.

    He’s a lovely thing. Most of the time. And he loves to have his belly rubbed. Also plays fetch. But on his terms. (g)

  3. I’m not laughing. Really. Are you okay? *g*

    I have a feminine cat who likes to sleep in the crook of my neck. I also have an alpha cat who likes to sleep by my husband’s feet. Sometimes he acts like a dog.

    The cat, not my husband.

    And I have a dog.

    But there are no asses in my home. 😉

  4. Jo Smith says:

    OK Lady

    I can solve the treadmill thing. No guilt, no spills, get rid of the damn thing. I gave mine to a man that is a friend of ours and needs it more than I do. I’m going to start dancing on Wed night also so that takes care of the exercise.

    My office is so much bigger and so much more pleasant to work in.

    OK, for the cat! I have a dog that acts like a cat. She gives me “the look” and I have to stare her down. Sometimes I tilt my head and close my eyes, pisses her off no end.

    But she rubs against my legs to give me messages like I love you, get food, let me out quick. But she is always by my side when I’m in my office, except she doesn’t want you to hold her.

    It’s all on her agenda if you hold, love, cuddle, etc. She doesn’t like her tummy rubbed or being outside.

    Maybe that’s why I love her, she’s hard to get.

    Jo

    PS: Don’t forget to find someone that needs the TM more than you. It makes you feel better about getting rid of the monster.

    PSS: You can always go dance with me.

  5. My cats have always been very cuddly and snuggly. Not the least bit snobby.

    And now I have an all-new reason not to get a treadmill. Thanks!

  6. Dana Pollard says:

    My asses aren’t in my home. They live outside. I don’t like animals coming into my house. I have to clean up after them. It’s bad enough I have to clean up after the 3 human-animals that live here. hehe

    Heather, you know you want my asses. 😉

  7. Bellezza says:

    Rinda, darling. Books and running on the treadmill don’t go together. Books and eating chocolate, however, do.

    (I’m halfway through Ill Winds, and looking forward to chatting about it with you.)

  8. Sara says:

    You just don’t do anything half way, do you? I’m glad the wall was there, too. Although you could probably get a lot of writing done while in traction.

    word verification: qqqsoo

  9. Normally, I can read just fine on the thing– which I will not give away because it keeps me moving in the winter, thank you — it was just this scene! And okay, I wasn’t really howling with the book– but I did cheer. I even spent the afternoon at B&N writing and going over Rachel’s stuff, but picked the book up again sitting in the parking lot outside the mall. I was waiting on my daughter. I actually hoped she was late. It’s a great book.

    Dana and Heather, do you guys need a room? (g)

    Oh, and I’m okay! I even had some old guys try to pick me up at B&N so I must look okay. I was even wearing my “Feeling evil today” shirt. Brave souls, they were.

    Is this your first foray into our Urban Fantasy genre, Bellezza?

  10. LMAO. Dana, you kill me.

    And I’ll take that room if it is paid for, has free cable and internet access, and no kids.

    And a twinkie bar.

  11. Bellezza says:

    It is! Can you believe a person who’s taken more Russian literature courses in college (by choice) than any other type is so ill prepared to discuss novels?

    I have read fantasy of course, but it’s usually “childrens'” such as Harry Potter, Lord of the Rings, Eragon and Eldest. Not URBAN fantasy. (Another fantasy title on my list to read is Dr. Norell and Mr. Strange.) I guess I need to get busy to converse intellegently with you all. It’s exciting to have a whole new door open, even if I think it’s a little…weird.

  12. Oh, I’m reading A Fistful of Charms too. *wg* Love it so far! I can’t put it down. Last night I sat down to read it and didn’t realize the passing of time until I finally heard the clock strike 4:00 am .

  13. X. Dell says:

    You see, that’s why I don’t have cats. Or treadmills.

  14. Dana Pollard says:

    Heather can have all the twinkies. I just want wirless internet service, ok? Oh, and access to your t-shirt stash, Rinda.

    You still want my asses, Hether. hehe

  15. Bellezza, I’d wondered if you’d realized you’d stumbled upon a paranormal writer’s blog. (bg)

    I read the classics, yes, but I prefer popular fiction most of the time. Kind of weird for a lady whose favorite book of all time is To Kill a Mockingbird, eh?

    But when I want to read, I usually reach for Koontz, Harrison, Jim Butcher, Catherine Asaro, Rachel Caine…

    I can’t remember if Ill Wind was the first in that series. If not, it’ll be even more confusing to you.

    And if you find it’s not a genre to your liking, that’s totally cool– hope you’ll still visit for the people. heh heh

    Tempest, it’s good, isn’t it? I can’t seem to get my writing done. Actually told my husband to hide it until I finish the next chapter.

  16. Sara says:

    For someone reading this who might not know about the two donkeys in Dana’s back yard, they’ve gotta be a little confused right about now. No, Dana does not have some kind of rare genetic defect.

  17. Oh no. TKAM is MY favorite book of all time.

    That is seriously cool. I think it is one of the best books ever written.

  18. Bellezza says:

    All right, I do realize I’m on a paranormal writer’s blog. 🙂 Normal is relative anyway.

    Ill Wind IS the first in the series, and the more I read it, the more I like it. It is a new genre for me, but fun to jump into the imagination of it all.

    By the way, has anyone read Time Traveler’s Wife? It’s a fantasy I loved, and one of my book clubs hated it. Just curious.

    Rinda, thanks for broadening my horizon.

  19. Oh, a recommendations!! I haven’t read that, but I’m off to look it up.

    And ladies, we’ve converted a new victi–er, fan!

    You might enjoy Rachel Caine’s blog, too. She’s been fighting breast cancer and has shared the battle with her readers. Her books are a wild ride and more fun than should be legal.

    Oh yeah, I was kidding about the paranormal writer thing. If I haven’t scared you off yet, I probably won’t. heh heh

    12:51 PM

  20. Uh, deleted it cause of typos then put them right back. Grr.

    Okay, people. I’m losing the word verification. I had it there cause it cut down on spam, but on another blog, the readers were discussing how it’s hard on dyslexic people. Frankly, it’s hard on me. I always have to load everyone’s comment section twice because the box comes up empty the first time around. So bye bye word box. We’ll give it a try. If the spam comes back, it’ll be back. 🙂

  21. Betty S says:

    Cats are so funny. The have such independent (and sometimes bossy) personalities. The stories I could tell.

  22. Dana Pollard says:

    Sara is right. I don’t have some genetic defect. I have two donkeys. Yes. Me. With two donkeys. It’s weird.

  23. Pingback: Whining, Calories and Puffy Face Monsters « The Write Snark

Leave a comment